Oh Bread Machine, where have you been all my life?

06Apr12

Now, I have been toying with the idea of trying to make most- if not all- of my family’s bread myself, for quite a while. The idea is very appealing but we have six adults and soon to be one baby in our house so demand is pretty high, and that is a lot of kneading, and I don’t have that kind of time. Well, a few weeks ago my dad brought me home a gift from my grand father, a BREAD MACHINE! 

ImageImage

I made a few satisfactory loaves using the basic loaf settings but all came out with a very thick crust and mediocre taste. Finally a friend of mine suggested using my machine’s dough setting and cooking my bread in the oven. I tried this, pulling the dough once the timer went off, I sprayed my hands with a little non stick spray to make removing the dough a little easier. If you make two pounds of dough you’ll want to slip the dough onto a floured surface and cut it in two, and slip into two lubricated loaf pans, one pound of dough only needs one pan, cover loosely with plastic wrap, and let rise for 10-20 minutes. Bake for 40-50 minutes at 350 F until it sounds hollow when tapped and has an internal temp of 140. This has worked for a number of types of bread, and has improved the look and taste of all of them dramatically. I also discovered the recipe book that came with the machine included one for pizza dough and my bread maker also has a pizza dough setting (how cool??).

Here are some pictures of a couple results: Jalapeno Cheese Bread

ImageImage

Cheese Pizza:

Image

 

No Responses Yet to “Oh Bread Machine, where have you been all my life?”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

