Composting fun!

14Dec11

Well tomorrow I’m really “digging” into the garden with both hands. I’ve decided I’m going to replant an artichoke plant I have, get my tire planters set up, and clear out space for and start my compost pile. This I am VERY excited about, partly for the wonderful addition to my soil and partly because it will cut down on my family’s waste output. Also I’ve found a way around that long, back breaking, chore: turning the compost pile. Instead of turning I am going to use a perforated length (about four feet) of PVC pipe stuck into the middle of the pile to aerate. I also plan on adding some worms to speed the process along. Eventually I plan on having two piles, one that will be breaking down while we build up the other so we always have compost on hand! Will post some pictures very soon.

No Responses Yet to “Composting fun!”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

